Endangered Species Handbook

Print PDF of Section or Chapter

Teachers' Aids and Educational Materials

Internet

All Endangered Species:
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species: www.redlist.org/
FWS Endangered Species Program: www.fws.gov/endangered/
WWF Wildfinder: www.worldwildlife.org/wildfinder/

Bats:
Bat Conservation International: www.batcon.org
www.bahnhof.se/~pettersson (identifying bats by their sound waves)
Swedish Bat Detector company: www.batsound.com.
 
Bears:     
Nature Net: www.naturenet.com/bears/.
Discovering Lewis & Clark: www.lewis-clark.org.
Yellowstone National Park: www.yellowstone-natl-park.com/bearstor.htm.
Great Bear Foundation: www.greatbear.org.
 
Birds:     
The Peregrine Fund: www.peregrinefund.org
(California Condor and other reintroduced endangered birds of prey).
Warbler Watch of Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology and National Audubon Society: birdsource.cornell.edu.
US Fish and Wildlife Service, endangered species breeding center at Patuxent Wildlife Research Center: mbr-pwrc.usgs.gov/bbs/ident.html.
Peterson Multimedia Guides: (sightings of rare birds): www.petersononline.com.
The Raptor Center, University of Minnesota (tracks Ospreys in their winter migration): www.raptor.cvm.umn.edu.
 
Butterflies:
Bugbios: insects.org/ced4/symbol_list3.html.
Journey North: learner.org/jnorth/current.html (tracing Monarch Butterfly migrations to Mexico, with classroom participation in the United States and Mexico).
Cornell Center for the Environment: www.cfe.cornell.edu (projects to monitor butterfly populations).
A World for Butterflies: www.aworldforbutterflies.com (Dr. Philip Shappert, editor of News of the Lepidopterists’ Society and author of A World for Butterflies).
 
Marine Species:
Sea Turtle Survival League: www.cccturtle.org (sea turtle tracking with satellite transmitters).
The Karen Beasley Sea Turtle Rescue and Rehabilitation Center: www.seaturtlehospital.org (hospital for injured and sick sea turtles, many with shattered shells from boat collisions and infections from pollution during nesting season, volunteers protect 100 nests and hatchlings).
University of Maine’s Lobster Institute: www.lobster.um.maine.edu/lobster
(live video of lobsters in the wild).
SeaWeb: www.seaweb.org (marine education).
Ocean Planet, The Smithsonian Institution: seawifs.gsfc.nasa.gov/oceanplanet.html
(traveling exhibits with links to background material).
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution: www.whoi.edu
(research projects and access to its library and oceanographic sites).
Mote Marine Laboratory: www.marinelab.sarasota.fl.us
(information about red tides and sea turtle rehabilitation).
SeaWatch: www.seawatch.org or www.seawatchfoundation.org.uk.
 
Wolves and Wild Dogs:
NOVA/PBS: www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/wolves.
Penn State College of Earth and Mineral Sciences: www.ems.psu.edu.
Yellowstone Wolf Report: yellowstone-natl-park.com/wolf.html.
Wolf Haven International: www.wolfhaven.org.
Wolf Education and Research Center: www.wolfcenter.org.
Defenders of Wildlife wolf program: www.defenders.org.
Timber Wolf Information Network: www.timberwolfinformation.org.
Wild Canid Survival and Research Center: www.wolfsanctuary.org.
The Association for Nature “Wolf”: www.most.org.pl/wolf
(Godziszka, Poland; wolves in Poland and Europe).
International Wolf Center: www.wolf.org.
Dhole home page: www.cuon.net/dholes (information on the Asiatic wild dog, its biology, research and conservation).


Back
Chapters
Chapter Index
Search
Animal Welfare Institute
Next
    ©1983 Animal Welfare Institute